Wedding

Our diy picnic themed wedding breakfast

I absolutely loved the relaxed feel of my wedding day. There was no pressure and everything just seemed to flow easily and I’m pretty sure that is due to our choice of having a picnic themed wedding breakfast.

While not everyone was thrilled with our choice and tried to make us pick something more “conventional”, we stuck to our guns and I’m so glad we did. Picnics were something that we both enjoyed doing and it was personal, relaxed and best of all it was original, unique and was really inexpensive.

After we had decided on the picnic theme, I scoured pinterest for some ideas. Immediately sitting on the floor was vetoed (although not by me) and we merged our favourite ideas and ended up with this…

jl-0795

I am so proud of how it turned out. I spent hours scouring ebay and free sites to find enough picnic baskets and I spent even more hours wandering around shops searching for gingham table runners  but all of it was worth it in the end. 

While I think everyone has some aspects of their wedding day that they would change (and I certainly do) the picnic buffet was not one of them.

Here is a quick breakdown of what we bought:

  • Pink vases and flowers from ikea (under £1 each for the flower and vase)
  • Candle jar (jar was recycled and decorated with ribbon already owned, tea light already owned)
  • Gingham table runner (I cut up gingham table cloths to get runners but the cloths were £1 each from an online poundshop so around 50p per runner)
  • White tablecloth was a bedsheet cut up (so around £2 per cloth)
  • Picnic baskets sourced on ebay etc (our budget was around £5 each)
  • Brown paper bags (10 for £1 in poundworld decorated with a doiley which were 60 for £1 for the sandwiches- the rest of the buffet was in another room)
  • Table numbers were bought from Matalan (I think 50p) but I attached them to the basket with ribbon, and the other sign was designed and printed onto card at home.
Leave a Reply

